ICC expand their mega event

2019 edition of ODI WC was 10 team affair for which many criticized ICC for not letting opportunity to Associate nation. However 2023 edition will be of same format but ICC on Wednesday announced their decision to expand the ICC tournament with their official release :

The ICC Board of Directors confirmed the ICC event schedule from 2024 to 2031. It will expand the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup and ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, and will reintroduce the men’s championship trophy.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will become a 14 team, 54 match event in 2027 and 2031, whilst the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be expanded to a 20 team, 55 match event in 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030. An eight-team Champions Trophy will be hosted in 2025 and 2029. ICC World Test Championship Finals will be hosted in 2025, 2027, 2029, and 2031. The ICC Women’s event schedule has already been confirmed with the expansion of both the Cricket World Cup and T20 World Cup forming part of the ICC’s long-term commitment to growing the women’s game.

ICC expands men's world events - ODI World Cup to 14 teams - T20 World Cup  to 20 teams

Last time we witness 14 team WC was back in 2011. England ,Pakistan and West Indies are defending champions of WC, Champions trophy and T20 WC respectively.


Sabin koirala

Sabin koirala sports  journalist by profession working for many online portals . Cricket is my passion and I simply love writing about cricket.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button