ArticlesCricket TrendsNews

Virat Kohli wins Sir Garfield Sobers Awards, Ellyse Perry reigns over Female Category on the ICC Awards of the Decade.

ICC announced the winners of the award via a video release across its digital platforms today. Virat Kohli won the Sir Garfield Sobers Awards and the ICC Male ODI Player of the decade.

For the first time the fans’ voice was heard in the selection of the winners across the categories including the Sir Garfield Sobers and Rachael Heyhoe Flint Awards, often referred as ICC Male Cricketer of the decade and ICC Female Cricketer of the decade. The fan vote made up 10% of the voting, while votes from an expert panel made the remaining 90%.

On the other Categories, Steve Smith won the ICC Awards for the Test Cricketer of the decade. Rashid Khan won ICC Male’s T20i Cricketer of the decade.Β  Scottish National, Kyle Coetzer won the ICC Male Associate Player of the decade.Β 

On the Female awards, Ellyse Perry  won in the the three major categories. She won Rachael Heyhoe Flint Awards. She also won ICC ODI Female Cricketer of the decade and the ICC T20i Female Cricketer of the decade. Scottish National, Kathryn Bryce won the ICC Female Associate Cricketer of the decade.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade. The former Indian skipper got the award for his gesture of calling back England batsman Ian Bell after a bizarre run out in the Nottingham Test in 2011.

Teams of the decade

Test team of the decade

Previously, ICC also had announced the teams of the decade. ICC announced Men’s ODI, T20i and Test Teams of the decade. The test team of the decade included Alistair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Kumar Sangakkara, Ben Stokes, Ravi Ashwin, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad and James Anderson.

ODI team of the decade

ICC ODI team of decade included, Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the skipper. World cup winning captain was accompanied by his national team mates, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in the team. The team also included David Warner and AB de Villiers on the top 4. Shakib Al’ Hasan and Ben Stokes were the two allrounders in the team. South African leggie Imran Tahir also got selected in the team. Besides that, Pacers Lasith Malinga , Dale Steyn and Mitchell Starc also made the team.

ICC t20i team of the decade

ICC also announced an bizarre looking t20i XI on the same day. Fans criticized the team for not considering the proper players and the international stats. The squad misses out on being inclusive as it misses out long time standing world number 1 t20i batsman Babar Azam. While it includes players with mediocre performance on the international level like Mahendra Singh Dhoni and AB de Villiers. The team has been criticized for considering the franchise tournaments instead of international games.

ICC’s t20i team of the decade also, has some undisputable inclusions like Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aron Finch and Virat Kohli in the top 3. Besides that, the inclusion of Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah seems undebatable.

But the team’s lacking of proper bowling options is subjected to wide range of criticism. None of the allrounders Keiron Pollard and Glenn Maxwell were the proper four over bowlers in the international cricket. The team also includes Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the captain of the team.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button